Scone is on New England Highway (A15)
This park has picnic tables, barbecues, toilets and a children's playground. Within the park there is also a sculpture, designed by Gabriel Sterk, of a Mare and Foal which was erected in 1982 to commemorate the area’s best known industry plus a bust of Governor Hunter, which was unveiled in 1994 by the Honorable George Souris and a memorial for Bill Bishop who was the Shire President for many years.
Located on the New England Highway at Scone on the corner of Susan Street and adjacent to the Information Centre.
The town of Scone was laid out in 1837, in the area between the Kingdon Ponds and the Great North Road, which is now the New England Highway. Thirty-six points of historic interest and a map can be obtained from the Information Centre in Kelly Street.
At the Scone airport there is a large museum of actual flying war-birds amongst many other vintage model aircraft including a Spitfire which was used in World War II and is currently the only one left in the country. You can view this private collection of antique aircraft by phoning (02) 6545 1166 to make an appointment.
Turn west off Kelly Street (New England Highway) at the traffic lights in the centre of town, onto Liverpool Street. Travel 2 kilometres then turn right (at the second roundabout) onto Satur Road. Travel another 2 kilometres then turn left at the airport sign. After 100 metres veer to the left and the museum is directly ahead.
The museum was originally the old Scone Police Station and was built in 1870 . There are many artefacts relating to the local area on display. There is also war memorabilia and a collection of old toys. Adjacent to the museum is the former Police Sergeants residence and now the Research Centre. The centre is used for the research of family history for those wanting to know more about their ancestors and for general history of the area. It contains photo collections, newspapers, town land records, records of local organisations and histories of local families. Open: Wednesday 9.30am-2.30pm and Sunday 2.30pm-4.30pm
Turn west off Kelly Street (New England Highway) at the traffic lights in the centre of town, onto Liverpool Street. Take the second left onto Hill Street (St Lukes Anglican Church is on the corner), 1st right onto Kingdon Street and the museum is 170 metres on the left.