The Murray Valley Highway runs from the Sturt Highway in New South Wales, 2.5 kilometres east of Euston and 2 kilometres north of the Murray River Bridge at Robinvale. It follows the southern side of the Murray River to Wodonga then gradually heads south. The Murray Valley Highway follows the same route as the Hume Highway for 13 kilometres starting 26 kilometres east of Rutherglen and ending at Wodonga where it veers off the Hume Highway. It continues through the township of Corryong to the Victoria/New South Wales border, where it becomes Alpine Way in New South Wales. It is 665 kilometres long and an 8.40 hour drive. Most of the highway is fairly straight and flat, much of it through irrigated farmland. It becomes hillier and more winding east of Wodonga, with a moderately steep mountain pass between Tallangatta and Corryong.